So what is the AIP diet anyway?

I mentioned in the 30 Things About My Chronic Illness meme that I’m doing the AIP diet for at least 30 days. I just made it through my first week of the diet yesterday, and I’ll post a bit about how it’s going so far in my next post, but first let me talk about what the AIP is and why I’m doing it.

What’s the AIP diet?

AIP stands for Autoimmune Protocol or Autoimmune Paleo.

You’ve probably heard about the Paleo diet by now. Well, the AIP is a modified paleo diet designed to control inflammation in people with autoimmune diseases that is often used as an elimination diet. Most people stay on the full diet for at least a month and then begin to reintroduce some of the restricted foods to see if they have a reaction, while others have to stick to the strict diet long-term.

There are several versions of this diet (some more restrictive than others), but I’m using Mickey Trescott’s guidelines. Her website is a wonderful resource for anyone interested in learning more about the AIP diet.

Mickey has some great printouts of what to eat and avoid, but here are the main things I’m avoiding:

Grains

Beans

Legumes

Nuts

Nightshades

Seeds

Eggs

Dairy

Alcohol

Sugar and Other Sweeteners

Why am I doing the AIP diet?

I’ve had a lot of gut issues over the past year. Things are better than they were a year ago but still far from perfect. I was first diagnosed with gut dysbiosis a little less than a year ago, and I’m waiting on some test results to see if I have any improvement in that area.

Before starting the diet I’d already been gluten-free for over  a year. I’ve known that I have reactions to dairy for awhile, and I’ve suspected that I also have reactions to eggs, so I had also cut out all dairy and eggs before starting the AIP.

I’ve tried elimination diets in the past, but for the most part, I have never felt well enough on the diets to be able to tell if something was giving me a new reaction when I reintroduced foods. I’m hoping I start to feel enough improvements by the end of the month to actually determine whether the foods I reintroduce are causing a reaction.

I’ve also seen quite a few people with autoimmune diseases share their stories about how this diet has helped them.

So I’ve decided to give the strict diet at least 30 days to see if it helps me at all, and then hopefully I’ll begin to re-introduce some food.

10 thoughts on “So what is the AIP diet anyway?

  1. Pingback: Auotimmune Peleo Protocol (AIP) Update: First ten days | Chronic Chic

  2. I’ve never heard of AIP, but it sounds interesting. I’m eating Paleo as of two weeks ago and hoping it will help me to feel better so I can get rid of my daily cortisone pills. I’m still using dairy though but lactose free. I’ll keep this AIP in mind in case I need to try something else this Fall.

  3. I notice a little dizziness every now and then and I think that’s because of not using as much sugar. As soon as I do eat something with sugar in it I feel much better. I suppose my body needs to get used to the new sugar levels or something. Otherwise I’m doing much better nowadays than I’ve done in a long time. Earlier this summer I started with a lactose free and no red meat diet and that might have helped too. How are you feeling with your AIP diet?

    • I’m also really dizzy today. I was thinking it meant I needed more salt (my sodium and potassium run a little low), but now I wonder if it’s also the lack of sugar. I’ll try eating a little more fruit and see if it helps. Thanks for the idea. 🙂

      • No problem. Hope it helps. 🙂 I actually purchased “dextrose” (I think that is the English word for it…) to have in my purse in case of dizziness emergencies. Works wonders. If it happens when I’m at home I try to eat fruit instead.

  4. Pingback: AIP Kale Chips – A Quick, Healthy Snack | Chronic Chic

  5. Pingback: Autoimmune Paleo Protocol (AIP) Update: A Bit of a Roller Coaster | Chronic Chic

  6. Pingback: Autoimmune Paleo Protocol (AIP) Update — 2 Months | Chronic Chic

Leave a Reply

